Evalutate Information Sources – REAL

I have looked for more efficient ways to organize for young students the process of evaluating information sources. In the book Web Literacy for Educators, Alan November, suggests using the acronym REAL for Read the URL, Examine the content, Ask about the author and Look for the links. This might work with enough practice, but it isn’t in a logical order. Looking at the links and questioning the author should come before examining the content. I need something that makes more sense to young students.

I continue to think about how to evaluate information sources and I continue to look for answers from other educators. I don’t have an answer yet, but I am pleased that at least my students are starting to question information sources and are starting to ask quality questions about information sources.

Comments are closed.